Agar Agar is derived from two species of red algae in the Rhydophyceae family, Gelidium and Gracilaria. The powdered form is an excellent gelling agent and thickener in a variety of foods including jams, jellies, pudding, icings, soups and even ice-cream.
Agar is an excellent vegetarian alternative to gelatin. Used in microbiology as a growing media for yeast, mold and bacteria. Used to make casts in prosthetic dentistry. Agar is processed by hot-water extractions from the cleaned and bleached seaweed, followed by freezing to allow for the removal of soluble salts and finally, filtration. The resulting extract is then dried and milled to the desired particle size.
Agar can be added to icings and glazes, low-calorie baked goods, jellied candies and sugared fruits, sherbets and ice-creams, homemade pet food and baby food, and in jams and marmalades.
The standard ratio for vegan jelled dessert is 1 cup fruit juice to 1 teaspoon agar powder. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer, stirring often, for 5 minutes or until the agar has dissolved. Pour the mixture into a bowl and chill for 4 to 5 hours or until set.
Taking this product without adequate fluid may cause it to swell and block your throat or esophagus and may cause choking. Do not take this product if you have difficulty in swallowing. If you experience chest pain, vomiting, or difficulty in swallowing or breathing after taking this product, seek immediate medical attention.
Keep in a tightly closed container, stored in a cool, dry, ventilated area.
This herb should be ingested only with adequate liquid. Not for use by persons with bowel obstructions.